Tex-Mex Breakfast Bake

Here at 80/20 Paleo, I am all for making recipes that make enough servings so I can have some leftover meals later on in the week, saving time and energy.  This breakfast bake is no exception, as it yields enough servings to serve two people for about 3 days.  It is definitely 80/20 paleo, but can be 100% paleo with a few minor tweaks to the ingredients which I’ll note below.  Also keep in mind that it takes a while to make, as you have to make part of it on the stove and then transfer into the oven to bake.  I’d allow about a total of 1 hour of prep to completion.

Tex-Mex Breakfast Bake
1 tbsp avocado oil
1/2 lb chorizo
1 lb ground meat (turkey or beef)
2 sweet potatoes (skinned and shredded)
1 onion (minced)
1 jalapeno (diced)
2 cloves of garlic (minced)
1 can fire roasted diced tomatoes
1 can enchilada sauce (I used gluten free, but still not paleo)
1/2 tsp chili powder
1 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp oregano
1/2 tsp paprika
salt and pepper to taste
10-12 eggs (whisked)
Shredded cheddar (not paleo)

Preheat oven to 450 deg.
Skin sweet potatoes and shred with a hand grater (not fun) or in a food processor (more efficient).
In a large pan, heat avocado oil over med-high heat, and then add onion, garlic, jalapeno, and garlic. Cook 2-3 min.
Cut chorizo out of casing (if necessary) and add to pan and break apart with spatula or wooden spoon.
Add ground meat, mix together, and cook until almost brown.
Add spices, mix and cook 1-2 more min.
Drain tomatoes and add to pan. Cook until heated through, reduce heat to low. Drain pan of excess liquid.
Cover meat and veggie mixture evenly with the shredded potatoes and pour enchilada sauce over the potatoes. Cook for 5 minutes and then mix everything together and cook for another 5 min.
Transfer the mixture to your baking pan, add in eggs, and put in oven. Let this go for about 20-25 min or until eggs are cooked through. If you’re having cheese on this (I did), with 1-2 minutes left cover with cheese and let it melt. Enjoy!

About Mike

I work, I eat, I CrossFit and I blog about it. Contact me with questions, concerns, requests, gripes, and bitches at eat8020@gmail.com. View all posts by Mike

Leave a comment