Grilled Plantains

I apologize for the delay since my last post on Friday.  I had planned out a few more posts between then and now, however everything has been put on hold.  It seems that late Friday/early Saturday my wife went into labor and very early Sunday morning I became a daddy.  It’s not that I didn’t realize that my wife was 9 months pregnant, but Sunday was her actual due date, who would have thought the baby would have actually been born on that day. 

Anyhow, I have been a little less involved in cooking paleo stuff to write about over the past few days, but I am getting back into the swing of things.  However, I did try my hand at some grilled plantains with dinner tonight, and they turned out pretty good.  Before we move onto the recipe, lets just get it out there that plantains are not bananas.  If you like bananas you may not like plantains, and if you like plantains you may not like bananas.  Plantains are a little less sweet (OK a lot less) and are actually better the more ripe (black) they are.

Ripe ass plantains

So for this recipe, the first thing that you need to do is get your ripe ass plantains and get your grill going to a nice medium high or high heat.  Once you get the grill up to speed, cut both ends off each plantain, and toss those things directly onto the hot grill.  After 3 minutes, flip them over and let them go another 3.  The plantains will sort of expand or the skin will contract, either way you’ll start to notice that they “grow” out a bit from each end.  Once your plantains have been on the grill for about 6 minutes, pull them off and use a parring knife to remove the rest of the skin.  At this point you’ll have a hot, mushy, plantain that you can easily cut up with your fork.  Since we used ripe ass plantains they are actually already pretty sweet and ready to serve.  If you taste and think this is no bueno, heat a little honey up in the microwave and drizzle over the top.  Nice, sweet, and paleo!  The non-paleo version would be to use brown sugar instead of honey, or some sort of honey/brown sugar combo.

Nicely grilled, ripe ass plantains

About Mike

I work, I eat, I CrossFit and I blog about it. Contact me with questions, concerns, requests, gripes, and bitches at eat8020@gmail.com. View all posts by Mike

Leave a Reply

