Sloppy Fidels (Paleo Cuban-ish Sloppy Joes)

  Sometimes eating paleo can be difficult if your family and/or friends aren’t on board.  My wife  and I typically eat well and paleo-ish.  I seem to eat more paleo than she does, even though she is on board with the diet and its principals.  Her main nemesis right now is ice cream, but that’s OK because she is 8 months and 3 weeks pregnant. 

I’ll admit that I have fallen off the paleo wagon from time to time while she is getting her (almost daily) fix.   Even the dog is on board with getting an ice cream treat as frequent as possible.

Like any other diet, paleo is tough to stick to.  But unlike other diets there are tons of foods that we can eat, that aren’t typically accepted by traditional diets (pork bacon and pork sausage come to mind immediately).

Paleo breakfast of champions

So, for me, I surround myself with those paleo-friendly foods that I love and keep away from the stuff that I can’t/shouldn’t eat.  That is easier said than done, and in my opinion it is OK to dabble a bit on the non-paleo side (that is why this is called 80/20 paleo), just don’t over do it.

Anyhow, got a good Sloppy Joe like recipe with a Cuban-ish spin on it, Sloppy Fidels.  This is a good quick one that is pretty much all paleo.  The only ingredient listed below that is not paleo-friendly is the Worcestershire sauce, which can easily be cut out of this one if you so desire.  Also if you are eating dairy, this is a good one to top with a little shredded cheddar or shredded swiss.

1 tbsp Avacado Oil
1/2 lb chorizo (cut the casing off and break the sausage up)
1 lb ground pork
1 onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp allspice
2 tsp paprika
2 tsp ground coriander
salt and black pepper to taste
1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce (non-paleo)
juice of 1 lime
1 can (15 oz) tomato sauce
1 jalapeno, diced

-Heat the oil in the skillet (high heat) and add the chorizo, cook for 2 minutes.
-Add the pork and cook for 4 minutes. Stir it up frequently so the pork breaks up.
-Add onion, garlic, allspice, paprika, coriander, salt, and pepper and cook for 5 minutes.
-Add Worcester and juice from 1 lime, mix well.
-Add in tomato sauce, reduce to low, and simmer until heated through.

Spoon onto a plate and top with diced jalapenos and cheese if you’re into that kind of thing. If you’re real good at this paleo thing, serve sandwich-style on some of your homemade paleo bread.

Sloppy Fidel

About Mike

I work, I eat, I CrossFit and I blog about it. Contact me with questions, concerns, requests, gripes, and bitches at eat8020@gmail.com. View all posts by Mike

Leave a Reply

