The 20%

Leftovers tonight for dinner, so no new recipe with pictures to post now. I will share one of my favorite/go-to lunch recipes a little later on. For now I guess I should spend some time on the 20%. I spend the majority of my eating life shoving quality paleo food into my face, but I do stray. Typically on a daily basis. I’m not saying that I drink beer and soda, and eat hot wings and candy on the daily, but I have a few non-paleo items on my menu. And yes, beer is definitely on the menu on Saturdays and Sundays. But why stray? I have a job that can be considered dangerous or hazardous to my health at times, and I don’t ever want to be in a situation where I have regrets. Especially food or drink regrets. So I make smart choices (for the most part) on what I eat when I stray of the beaten paelo path; I keep it gluten free, mostly dairy free, definitely grain free, not always sugar free, low calorie and low carb. Want a second opinion? Check this out.  A third opinion?  Well OK if you say so.

I’ve also hit a point in my paleo journey that some foods just don’t agree with me anymore. I’ve been at the 80/20 paleo thing for about 5 months now which is enough time for my body to adapt to not having dairy or fried foods in it. About 2 weeks ago I had some hot wings (fried not baked) for dinner. About 2 hours after eating those little hell monsters, my stomach was revolting, and continued for about 2 days after. I think I learned my lesson there. Same happens if I consume any amount of ice cream. Two foods I used to consume fairly regularly before I took up the whole paleo thing.
So what? If you’re going to go 80/20 make sure you’re in tune with your body. When you’re on your 20% make sure you are eating stuff that won’t sent your stomach into fits and tie up your schedule for the next two days with meetings between you and the toilet.

On to the recipe. This is an easy lunch or dinner that you can make in about 30 min. I typically make this on Sunday and eat it for lunch during the week. The recipe typically makes 3 servings.
1 lb ground beef, turkey, chicken, pork, or game meat (I prefer turkey)
Avocado Oil
1 medium onion, diced
1 red or green pepper, diced
1 can diced tomatoes or 1-2 tomatoes diced
1 clove garlic, minced
2 jalapeño peppers, diced
1 can tomato sauce
Salt, pepper, cumin, paprika, chili powder, dill, and thyme to taste
Guacamole

-Heat the avocado oil in a medium skillet over med high heat and add onion, red or green pepper, garlic, and jalapenos.
-Sautee in the oil for about 5 minutes, then add the meat and brown.
-After the meat is brown, drain if necessary, and then add in all the spices. Cook for 2-3 minutes.
-Add in diced tomatoes and tomato sauce, when it starts to bubble reduce heat to low. Cook until heated through.
-Serve and top with guacamole.

About Mike

I work, I eat, I CrossFit and I blog about it. Contact me with questions, concerns, requests, gripes, and bitches at eat8020@gmail.com. View all posts by Mike

Leave a Reply

