Carolina BBQ

Well, the 100 burpees for this afternoon’s WOD didn’t exactly pan out.  Stupid weather and stupid work had other plans for me.  I’ll more than make up for it tomorrow with a 3 miler in the am followed by a WOD in the pm.  All will be well.

The good news is the crock pot Carolina BBQ came out as deliciously as planned.  And as I promised earlier here is the recipe and a photo.

Paleo Carolina BBQ
2 onions, quartered
1 tbl sp paprika
2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp ground black pepper
1 (4-6) lb pork butt or shoulder roast
1 tbsp liquid smoke
1 cup cider vinegar
1/3 cup Worcestershire
1.5 tsp crushed red pepper flakes (CRP bitches!)
1/2 tsp dry mustard
1/2 tsp granulated garlic
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

-Place the quartered onions in the crock pot.
-Blend paprika, salt, and pepper and rub over roast. Place in crock pot and and drizzle liquid smoke over meat.
-Combine vinegar, Worcester, CRP, mustard, garlic, and cayenne pepper and stir to mix well. Pour about 1/3 of this mixture over the meat and put the rest in the fridge for later.
-Cook roast on low for 8-10 hours.
-Shred meat with 2 forks. Serve with left over vinegar/Worcester mixture.

About Mike

I work, I eat, I CrossFit and I blog about it. Contact me with questions, concerns, requests, gripes, and bitches at eat8020@gmail.com. View all posts by Mike

One response to “Carolina BBQ

  • Carita Ridell

    Are your trying to find Barbecue Recipes as well? I truly prefer this blog. So much excellent meat. I love all kinds of barbecue, however my absolutely favorite is really Carolina Barbecue. However, a very good Texas Brisket creates a couple of the best barbecue recipes on the our planet. I’m a searcher in a quest for the best barbecue!

Leave a Reply

